RSS Feed

Sweet potato fries made easy

Its funny that a couple of you mention you had sweet potato fries. I was getting ready to post about those in a couple of days, but a couple events took place that encouraged me to post about them tonight. Lets start with the first.

I got my new Progressive International GPC-4000 Fruit and Vegetable Chopper in the mail yesterday. I ordered this because my previous food chopper from Pampered Chef has really seen better days. So, after a few years of happy chopping, I decided that it was time to upgrade. I read all the reviews and this model of food chopper is the one I settled on, which you can check out here at Amazon.com. By the way, I get absolutely no financial reward or incentive for promoting this product, I just think its great.

Secondly, I had leftovers for dinner and wound up with more time on my hands than I had anticipated, so, I figured hey, I’ve got like 10 sweet potatoes in my cupboard, due to thinking I had none every time I’ve gone to the store over the last week. I needed to do something with them, but what? Make fries. And here is how I did it, with minimal effort:

Bake sweet potatoes in a 350F oven about 30 min to soften them.

Slice off pointy ends.

Peel if you want.

Cut sweet potatoes in half, through the roundest part of the middle (so you end up with two ‘cone’ shaped halves.

Place sweet potato on vegetable slicer, and wham! You’ve got perfectly symmetrical fries every time.

I was able to slice 10 sweet potatoes worth (3 big freezer bags full) of sweet potatoes in under 10 minutes. Here are some pics of the aftermath:

Up close and personal with raw food-chopping power…

So why make your own sweet potatoes? you ask. Can’t you buy bags of them frozen at the store and just heat them up. Yes, you can, but have you read the labels on those bags to see what’s in them? Let’s take a look:

Here is the ingredient list from a bag of Ore Ida brand sweet potatoes

SWEET POTATOES, CANOLA OIL MODIFIED FOOD STARCH, RICE FLOUR, TAPIOCA DEXTRIN, SEA SALT, LEAVENING (SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE, SODIUM BICARBONATE), XANTHAN GUM, ANNATTO (COLOR), DISODIUM SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE.

Here is what Schwan’s puts in theirs:

SWEET POTATOES, VEGETABLE OIL (CANOLA, SOYBEAN, AND/OR SUNFLOWER), MODIFIED POTATO STARCH, RICE FLOUR, POTATO DEXTRIN, SALT, CORN STARCH, SUGAR, TAPIOCA DEXTRIN, LEAVENING (SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE, SODIUM BICARBONATE), XANTHAN GUM, COLOR (EXTRACTIVES OF PAPRIKA AND TURMERIC), SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE (TO MAINTAIN NATURAL COLOR).

Then there’s McCain’s:

Product Ingredients Sweet Potatoes, Canola Oil, Modified Food Starch, Rice Flour, Cornstarch, Dextrin, Salt, Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Colored with Turmeric and Oleoresin Paprika.

And last but not least, Alexia brand, available in a lot of health food/organic sections of grocery stores, and by far the better choice, however still not 100% sweet potatoes as you’ll see:

Product Ingredients
Sweet Potatoes, Oleic Canola Oil And/Or Sunflower Oil And/Or Safflower Oil, Modified Food Starch (From Potatoes), Rice Flour, Corn Dextrin, Salt, Leaving (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Extractive of Paprika, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (Added To Preserve Natural Color).

Soooo, as you can see, even the nice, healthy Paleo sweet potato fry, when purchased frozen in a bag, can be horribly un-Paleo. The best bet is to make them yourself. It is a really easy task to do on a weekend, just bake up a couple trays, slice them and freeze them. Pull them out and heat when you’re ready to eat them and its just like you bought a bag at the store, only without all the extra junk.

2 responses »

  1. combatcrossfit

    Here is what I ate today:
    protein shake for breakfast with kefir, almond milk, muscle milk protein powder, strawberries
    Justin’s choc. almond butter packet
    3/4 cup trail mix with dates, almonds, raisins, walnuts
    Justin’s choc. hazelnut butter packet
    6 oz almond milk with 1/2 scoop protein powder
    Dinner: leftover ground meat with chopped veggies and paleo bbq sauce mixed in (kind of like a sloppy joe thing without the bread)
    Paleo candy bar
    1 cup trail mix
    This was a crappy day for eating for me; I had to miss lunch due to prepping a food tasting at one of the schools I was at, so I didn’t get to eat a good lunch and had to sub nut butters instead.

    Reply
  2. Very cool, we will have to try this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

