RSS Feed

Buffalo Roast turned out great!

So I decided to actually use one of the paleo cookbooks I bought because I was going to make a buffalo roast today and wasn’t sure exactly how I wanted to season it. This was an EXTREMELY easy and quick meal to make. It literally took me 15 minutes or less to prep it and get it thrown together in the crock-pot and leave it alone. I went with this really super easy recipe from the Primal Blueprint cookbook:

I had to smash the roast in on the sides so it would fit in my slow cooker, clearly I need a bigger one!

1 4-lb roast

1 teaspoon crushed rosemary

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 tablespoon paprika

1 teaspoon coarse sea salt

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

3 whole onions, sliced

1 cup water, beef or chicken broth

6 cloves garlic, minced

Mix the spices together in a bowl and rub onto the roast. Brown the roast on both sides in a large pan on the stove, then place in a slow cooker, cover with garlic, onions, and broth. Set the slow cooker on low for 7-8 hours and let it become awesome. Remove from slow cooker, slice and enjoy! One tip, don’t use the sweet onions. It sounded like a good idea at the time when I was buying them, but I really think it would have tasted better with white onions.

There is also an optional sauce/gravy that you can make to go with it, but I didn’t do that. It looked delicious, just didn’t have the extra time and the roast was SUPER tender and juicy so it didn’t really need it.

still steaming…

If you want to know how to make the sweet potatoes really quick and with very little prep, all I did was wash and rinse them, peel them, slice them VERY thin (probably 1/8″ or so) and then spread melted butter over then. Place them in the oven on Broil for about 15-20 minutes, flipping them over at least once in the middle. They will be so soft and savory when you pull them out!

For all you dog lovers, get one of these. Official scrap-eaten-before-it-hits-the-ground monitor.

24 responses »

  1. combatcrossfit

    Tuesday
    Sarah
    Breakfast-protein shake/smoothie
    lunch- leftover buffalo and veggie soup, homemade applesauce, raw milk to drink
    snack- kind bar, walnut date
    post-workout- raw milk + protein and half a sugar free rockstar
    dinner- buffalo roast and broiled buttered sweet potatoes

    Reply
  2. Wednesday – Pat:

    – breakfast: protein smoothie
    – snack: trail mix
    – lunch: sirloin steak with broccoli
    – snack: trail mix, buffalo jerky, apple
    – dinner/post-wod: chicken breast, bacon, applesauce with cinnamon

    Reply
  3. Wednesday- kelly
    Breakfast fruit smoothie 2 eggs hashbrowns 2 slices of bacon
    Lunch tuna salad, green salad with tropical mango dressing, cantelope and honeydew . 2 fruit stripes
    Dinner- we had our wedding tasting, lots of different meats and potatoes and one noodle of the pasta just for the taste. then we went to red mango for a little dessert not really inpressed everything was very sour tasting. only had a few bites and threw the rest away since it was not exactly what i wanted.

    Reply
    • combatcrossfit

      Kelly,
      I kind of felt that way too when we ate there. The vanilla was not at all ‘vanilla-like’ so it was a let down in a way. I am going to re-make the paleo ice cream I tried several months back and this time use the full fat coconut milk in the can instead of the carton, I think that will make a huge difference. Thats what I don’t like about Red Mango, there’s just not enough fat in it to make it a worthy treat and the stevia just tastes sour.

      Reply
  4. combatcrossfit

    Wednesday
    Sarah
    breakfast: skipped it for some reason, mostly because I slept in a little and went straight to lunch
    Lunch: petit filet and shrimp at bravo; I did eat one piece of bread with the dipping oil, not impressed; water to drink
    snack: trail mix
    dinner: sirloin, baked sweet potato with butter and cinnamon, water

    Reply
  5. Wednesday – Nathan
    Breakfast: Smoothie(coconut milk, orange, banana, strawberries, blueberries) and two hard boiled eggs.
    Snack: Baby Carrots
    Lunch: Grilled Chicken with avocado slices. For a side I had California blend vegetables and one hard boiled egg. Desert was some fresh pineapple chunks.
    Snack: Apple and some trail mix.
    Dinner: Salad night. Fresh greens with cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, olives, grilled chicken. For dressing I used olive oil and red wine vinegar.

    Reply
  6. Thursday- Kelly
    Breakfast- 2 eggs hashbrowns one slice of bacon
    Snack banana
    Lunch Pepperoni portobella mushroom pizza (sarah is going to post a pic of this it is so yummy and helps give you all the flavors of pizza with out the crust)
    Dinner 3 scrambled eggs with sour cream and salsa 3 pieces of low sodium bacon, 1 strawberry fruit stripe.

    Reply
  7. Thursday – Pat

    – breakfast: smoothie
    – snack: trail mix
    – lunch: chicken breast, bacon, roasted carrots
    – snack: trail mix
    – dinner: eggs, bacon, grapes

    I had a hard time this evening. I got home and my ground buffalo I had planned on having was still frozen. I REALLY had to fight the temptation to order pizza!

    Reply
    • combatcrossfit

      we got home and the ground buffalo we had thawed that WAS sitting in the sink was missing and the pit bull had put himself in his crate out of pure shame…luckily there was venison I was thawing for something else

      Reply
  8. combatcrossfit

    Thursday
    Sarah
    Breakfast
    trail mix and raw milk
    Lunch omelet at ginger sue’s with avocado with seasoned potatoes
    snack trail mix
    dinner: venison nachos
    snack: dark chocolate, 1/2 a bar

    Reply
  9. Breakfast: Turkey Bacon, One Hard boiled Egg, Banana
    Snack: Baby Carrots
    Lunch: Salad bar (Lettuce, Tomato, Mushrooms, Olives, and two eggs). Pineapple chunks for desert.
    Snack: Apple and some trail mix.
    Dinner: Sarah’s roast recipe (used a rump roast instead). Through in some baby red potatoes too. Very good!!!!

    Reply
  10. Friday – Pat

    – breakfast: smoothie
    – snack: trail mix
    – lunch: sirloin, green beans
    – snack: trail mix
    – dinner: ground buffalo, sweet potato, grapes

    Reply
  11. Nathan
    Friday
    Post WOD: Whole Milk protein shake
    Breakfast: Smoothie(coconut milk, orange, banana, raspberries, blueberries)
    Snack: Baby Carrots
    Lunch: Salad at Subway with olive oil dressing
    Snack: Apple
    Dinner: I got two small little bags of apples at McDonalds on the way to Nebraska. I was reading the label and they had some preservative to “keep the color” of the apple slices. It was weird. We got to Holly’s parents around 8:30pm so all I had to eat was two poached eggs. I ate a lot of trail mix on the trip.
    Going to Nebraska over the weekend. Traveling and trying to eat healthy really sucks. Thank god for trail mix 🙂

    Reply
  12. Nathan
    Saturday
    Breakfast: Scrambled Eggs with green pepper and a banana.
    Snack: Nothing (Forgot my trail mix)
    Lunch: We went to Holly’s aunt and uncle’s for Easter. They had a Mexican theme (go figure). I had pulled pork with pinto beans mixed in (I didn’t have a choice on the beans they were all mashed together) with onions, olives, and tomatoes on a bed of shredded lettuce. One deviled egg and a lot of fruit. Who ever brought the fruit saved me from starving or going off the deep end.
    Snack: Nothing (Forgot my trail mix)
    Dinner: Grilled Chicken with a fruit cup. Then a lot of trail mix because I was still hungry.
    It sucks traveling and trying to do paleo. Especially with other people who don’t eat like you so that eat strawberry pie or butterfinger desert in front of you. Or even make comments like “ha, ha, you can’t eat that”

    Reply
    • I’m gonna find that out next month. I have two straight weeks of traveling with two different groups of people. It will be interesting.

      I don’t worry about what other people say/do, because I am doing this for myself. On the inside, I laugh when I see people eating crap each and every day. I have one person at work who constantly complains about being fat, yet eats out almost every meal!

      Reply
  13. Saturday – Pat:

    – breakfast: smoothie (late breakfast!)
    – lunch/post-wod: baked chicken tenders (not breaded) and red potatoes
    – snack: trail mix and grapes
    – dinner: sirloin steak and green beans

    Reply
  14. Sunday – Pat:

    – breakfast: eggs, bacon, blueberries
    – snack: trail mix
    – lunch: nitrate-free ham (overnight in the crock-pot with pineapple juice), mashed sweet potato (with butter and coconut milk), green beans with bacon
    – snack: ham pieces
    – dinner: paleo pizza
    – snack: almond butter

    Reply
  15. combatcrossfit

    I forgot to post on Friday, but my meals would have been similar to the rest of the days I was posting. Saturday was a planned cheat day for us, so I won’t even bother posting what we ate because it was in no way paleo.

    Sunday
    Sarah
    Breakfast- banana and almond butter
    trail mix
    lunch- patty with bacon, tomatoes and jalapenos
    dinner- leftover roast, broccoli with butter and grated San Jauquin gold aged cheese
    cheat snack: a little ice cream
    can’t wait for Monday, this weekend was rough for staying on track, mostly because our routine was so disrupted with outings and stuff

    Reply
  16. Nathan
    Sunday
    Breakfast: Banana
    Lunch: Two poached eggs with tomato, green pepper. Three pieces of turkey bacon, and a sweet potato (Odd meal I know)
    Snack: Trail Mix
    Dinner: Rotisserie Chicken from Hy-Vee and acorn squash. Then for dessert I had a little Justin’s Hazelnut butter.

    Reply
  17. Monday – Pat:

    – breakfast: smoothie
    – snack: trail mix
    – lunch: left over paleo pizza
    – snack: trail mix and banana
    – dinner: ham, ground beef, green beans with bacon

    Reply
  18. Hello All
    I am a few days behind but they have been pretty basic stuff.
    Here is sunday and monday!
    Sunday
    Breakfast – 2 eggs and 2 slices of low sodium bacon. we tried to make the paleo pancakes and could not get them to turrn out. They would not cook all the way through so you could fip them they just fell apart! so I need some wisdom of those that have had success with them.we did the one that was just bananas and egg and nut butter.
    Lunch- tuna salad and a fruit stripe
    Dinner – Ham 2 deviled eggs fresh green beans and mashed sweet potatoes.

    Monday

    breakfast- two eggs and 2 slices of bacon
    snack – a little trail mix
    Lunch- leftover ham and sweet potatoes and a salad
    Dinner – ate at a buffet with my parents, I did not do too bad steak, mashed potatoes, green beans, cooked carrots, salad with low cal italian
    To be honest i am truely hitting my wall of this lifestyle always by the second week i am ready to give up. All I wanted tonight was a hot fudge sundae. I have resisted to this point i just hope i can stick it out!

    Reply
    • Kelly,
      I feel your pain. Whenever I start paleo over again after a particularly rough non-paleo binge, it sometimes takes me a few attempts to stay on the wagon. Push through, visualize how good it will feel when you start noticing really obvious results and then you won’t feel as unmotivated.
      This definitely takes effort to plan meals and stick to them. I know you can do things that are hard because you show up to CrossFit and don’t walk right back out the door. Real results don’t come overnight, they’re earned and most require a lot of determination. Just picture that wedding dress 😉

      Reply
  19. Thanks for the positive words Sarah!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

